Boiling Point and Belfast lead charge at BIFAs

11 nominations each for films based on directors' own experience

by Amber Wilkinson

Belfast and Boiling Point both have 11 nominations
Belfast and Boiling Point both have 11 nominations Photo: Focus Features and Vertigo Releasing
Two films drawing on the directors' own experience lead the charge at this year's British Independent Film Awards. Kenneth Branagh's semi-autobiographical drama shot during Belfast's Troubles was in poll position with 11 nominations, alongside Philip Barantini's single-shot Boiling Point, which is also based on his own experiences.

Among Belfast's nominations, were the performances from Caitríona Balfe, Judi Dench, Ciarán Hinds and Jude Hill, while the acting of Stephen Graham, Ray Panthaki, Vinette Robinson and Lauren Ajufo, snagged nods for Boiling Point.

Not far behind were After Love by Aleem Khan and Censor directed by Prano Bailey-Bond - both debut features - which tied with nine nominations with Joanna Hogg’s The Souvenir Part II.

The awards ceremony will be held as an in-person event on December 5.

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Best British Independent Film

  • After Love
  • Ali & Ava
  • Boiling Point
  • The Nest
  • The Souvenir Part II

Best Director

  • Philip Barantini, Boiling Point
  • Clio Barnard, Ali & Ava
  • Sean Durkin, The Nest
  • Joanna Hogg, The Souvenir Part II
  • Aleem Khan, After Love

Best Actress

  • Caitríona Balfe, Belfast
  • Carrie Coon, The Nest
  • Claire Rushbrook, Ali & Ava
  • Joanna Scanlan, After Love
  • Ruth Wilson, True Things

Best Actor

  • Riz Ahmed, Encounter
  • Adeel Akhtar, Ali & Ava
  • Stephen Graham, Boiling Point
  • Jude Law, The Nest
  • James Norton, Nowhere Special

Best Supporting Actress

  • Judi Dench, Belfast
  • Jo Hartley, Sweetheart
  • Nathalie Richard, After Love
  • Vinette Robinson, Boiling Point
  • Tilda Swinton, The Souvenir Part II

Best Supporting Actor

  • Talid Ariss, After Love
  • Richard Ayoade, The Souvenir Part II
  • Lucian-River Chauhan, Encounter
  • Ciarán Hinds, Belfast
  • Ray Panthaki, Boiling Point

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)

Best Screenplay

  • Clio Barnard, Ali & Ava
  • Terence Davies, Benediction
  • Sean Durkin, The Nest
  • Joanna Hogg, The Souvenir Part II
  • Aleem Khan, After Love

Breakthrough Producer

  • Michelle Antoniades, Sweetheart
  • Helen Jones, Censor
  • Jessica Malik, She Will (also produced by Bob Last)
  • Hester Ruoff, Boiling Point (also produced by Bart Ruspoli)
  • Rob Watson, The Power (also produced by Matthew James Wilkinson)

Best Debut Screenwriter

  • Prano Bailey-Bond, Censor (also written by Anthony Fletcher)
  • Cathy Brady, Wildfire
  • Aleem Khan, After Love
  • Marley Morrison, Sweetheart
  • Reggie Yates, Pirates

The Raindance Discovery Award

  • Bank, Job Daniel Edelstyn, Hilary Powell, Christopher Hird
  • The Bike Thief, Matt Chambers, Pk Fellowes, Sophia Gibber, Lene Bausager
  • I Am Belmaya, Sue Carpenter, Christopher Hird
  • Poly Styrene: I Am A Cliché, Paul Sng, Celeste Bell, Zoë Howe, Rebecca Mark-Lawson, Matthew Silverman, Daria Nitsche
  • Rebel Dykes, Harri Shanahan, Siân A Williams, Siobhan Fahey

Best British Short Film

  • Egúngún (Masquerade)
  • Femme
  • Night Of The Living Dread
  • Play It Safe
  • Precious Hair & Beauty

Best International Independent Film

Best Casting

  • Shaheen Baig, After Love
  • Shaheen Baig, Ali & Ava
  • Shaheen Baig, Pirates
  • Lucy Bevan, Emily Brockmann, Belfast
  • Carolyn Mcleod, Boiling Point

Best Cinematography

  • Mátyás Erdély, The Nest
  • Magdalena Kowalczyk, Cow
  • Matthew Lewis, Boiling Point
  • Annika Summerson, Censor
  • Haris Zambarloukos, Belfast

Best Costume Design

  • Michael O’Connor, The Electrical Life Of Louis Wain
  • Grace Snell, The Souvenir Part II
  • Guy Speranza, Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
  • Annie Symons, Benediction
  • Charlotte Walter, Belfast

Best Music

  • Iain Cooke, Pirates
  • Connie Farr, Harry Escott, Ali & Ava
  • Jed Kurzel, Encounter
  • Clint Mansell, In The Earth
  • Van Morrison, Belfast

Best Effects

  • Steven Bray, Mike Knights, Dashcam
  • Gary Brown, István Molnár, Dan Martin, Censor
  • Rupert Davies, The Electrical Life Of Louis Wain

Best Editing

  • Helle Le Fevre, The Souvenir Part II
  • Rebecca Lloyd, Jacob Schulsinger, Nicolas Chaudeurge, Cow
  • Úna Ní Dhonghaíle, Belfast
  • Mark Towns, Censor
  • Ben Wheatley, In The Earth

Best Make-Up & Hair

Best Production Design

  • Jim Clay, Belfast
  • Stéphane Collonge, The Souvenir Part II
  • Suzie Davies, The Electrical Life Of Louis Wain
  • Aimee Meek, Boiling Point
  • Paulina Rzeszowska, Censor

Best Sound

  • Nicolas Becker, Cyril Holtz, Linda Forsen, Cow
  • James Drake, Boiling Point
  • Tim Harrison, Jamie Roden, Adele Fletcher, Censor
  • Martin Pavey, In The Earth
  • Andrew Stirk, Paul Davies, Morgan Muse, Bernard O’reilly, Julian Howarth, Encounter

Share this with others on...

Collaboration and fighting dictatorship Director Emin Alper and producer Yorgos Tsourgiannis on their working relationship

Chuckle chuckle baby Janis Pugh on laughter, love and community in her comedy musical

A constant source of energy David Hinton on Martin Scorsese and Made In England: The Films Of Powell And Pressburger

Five highlights of Fantasia 2024 Oddity, The Tenants, The G, Infinite Summer and The Missing

Making films without permission Nicole Riegel on why cinema should be uncomfortable, and Dandelion

San Sebastian announces New Directors titles Spanish films for festival have also been announced

More news and features


More competitions coming soon.