Diane is big winner at Tribeca

Shawn Snyder takes Best New Narrative Director for To Dust

by Anne-Katrin Titze

Three Tribeca Film Festival Awards for Diane, written and directed by Kent Jones
Three Tribeca Film Festival Awards for Diane, written and directed by Kent Jones Photo: Anne-Katrin Titze

Kent Jones's Diane, starring Mary Kay Place, is the big winner at the Tribeca Film Festival Awards, taking home Best US Narrative Feature, Best Screenplay and Best Cinematography for Wyatt Garfield. Best International Narrative Feature went to Marios Piperides for Smuggling Hendrix and Best Documentary Feature to Gabrielle Brady for Island Of The Hungry Ghosts.

Tribeca Best New Narrative Director winner Shawn Snyder for To Dust
Tribeca Best New Narrative Director winner Shawn Snyder for To Dust Photo: Anne-Katrin Titze

Best New Narrative Director goes to Shawn Snyder for To Dust, starring Matthew Broderick and Géza Röhrig. Best Actress in a Narrative Feature went to Alia Shawkat for Miguel Arteta’s Duck Butter and Best Actor to Jeffrey Wright in Madeleine Sackler’s O.G.. Best International Narrative Actress to Joy Rieger in Keren Ben Rafael's Virgins and Best Actor to Rasmus Bruun in Mads Brugger’s The Saint Bernard Syndicate.

Here is the complete list of jurors and the winners:-

US Narrative Competition Jurors: Justin Bartha, Bilge Ebiri, Jenny Lumet, Chris Messina, Lakeith Stanfield

  • Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature: Kent Jones - Diane
  • Best Actor Narrative Feature: Jeffrey Wright - Madeleine Sackler’s O.G.
  • Best Actress Narrative Feature: Alia Shawkat - Miguel Arteta’s Duck Butter
  • Best Screenplay Narrative Feature: Kent Jones - Diane
  • Best Cinematography Narrative Feature: Wyatt Garfield - Diane

International Narrative Competition Jurors: Florence Almozini, Martha Coolidge, André Holland, Ray Liotta, Haifaa Al Mansour

  • Best International Narrative Feature: Marios Piperides - Smuggling Hendrix
  • Best Actor Narrative Feature: Rasmus Bruun - Mads Brugger’s The Saint Bernard Syndicate
  • Best Actress Narrative Feature: Joy Rieger - Keren Ben Rafael's Virgins
  • Best Screenplay Narrative Feature: Lærke Sanderhoff - Mads Brugger's The Saint Bernard Syndicate
  • Best Cinematography Narrative Feature: Albert Salas - Jamie Jones’s Obey

Documentary Competition Jurors: Kirsten Johnson, Dan Cogan, Brett Morgen

  • Best Documentary Feature: Gabrielle Brady - Island Of The Hungry Ghosts
  • Best Cinematography: Niels van Koevorden - Jeroen van Velzen’s Tanzania Transit
  • Best Editing: Frederick Shanahan, Jon Kasbe, Caitlyn Greene - Jon Kasbe’s When Lambs Become Lions

Best New Narrative Director Competition Jurors: Josh Charles, Joshua Leonard, Zosia Mamet

  • Best New Narrative Director Award: Shawn Snyder - To Dust

Best New Documentary Director Competition Jurors: Elvira Lind, Nelson George, Linda Knowlton, Derek Waters, Basil Tsiokos

  • The Albert Maysles Award: Dava Whisenant - Bathtubs Over Broadway

  • The Nora Ephron Prize, presented by Chanel Jurors: Joanna Gleason, Rebecca Keegan, Sasheer Zamata
    • The Nora Ephron Prize: Nia DaCosta - Little Woods

    • Storyscapes Award Jurors: Myriam Achard, Marcie Jastrow, Nicholas Thompson

    • Storyscapes Award: Vassiliki Khonsari, Brooks Brown - Hero

    Best Narrative Short and Best Animated Short Jurors: Steve Aoki, Amy Kaufman, Sheila Nevins, Alex Pettyfer, Norman Reedus, Alysia Reiner, Ondi Timoner

    • Best Narrative Short: Lenar Kamalov - Phone Duty

    Best Documentary Short and Student Visionary Award Jurors: Sapphire, Joe Daniels, Amy Kaufman, Susan Lacy, James Steyer

    The winners of the Narrative Feature and Documentary Audience Awards will be announced on April 28.

    The 17th edition of the Tribeca Film Festival presented by AT&T runs through April 29.

    Share this with others on...

    Letting go Jonas Bak on the city, the forest and Wood And Water

    Glamorous consciousness Amalia Ulman on El Planeta and opening New Directors/New Films

    Stay-At-Home Seven: April 19-25 TV and streaming highlights this week

    A grey zone Elvira Lind on dealing with loneliness and attempts to connect in The Letter Room

    Invisible hands Kaouther Ben Hania on Beauty And The Dogs and The Man Who Sold His Skin

    Netflix Oscar-nominated films to screen in NYC Paris Theatre to host pre-awards special

    HOME plans season about act of filmmaking Showcase to coincide with easing of Covid restrictions

    More news and features

    We've recently covered BFI Flare , the Glasgow Short Film Festival, South by Southwest , New York's Rendez-vous with French Cinema, the Glasgow Film Festival, the first part of this year's Berlin Film Festival, Slamdance and Sundance.

    Read our full for more.

    Visit our festivals section.


    More competitions coming soon.