Blue Moon wins Golden Shell

San Sebastian announces winners

by Amber Wilkinson

Blue Moon's diretor Alina Grigore and producer Gabriela Suciu
Blue Moon's diretor Alina Grigore and producer Gabriela Suciu Photo: Courtesy of San Sebastian Film Festival/Ulises Proust
Alina Grigore's Blue Moon won the Golden Shell at San Sebastian Festival’s 69th edition. The film marked the debut by the Romanian filmmaker.

The Best Director Silver Shell went to Danish director Tea Lindeburg for As In Heaven. The festival had a gender neutral acting awared for the first time this year and it was shared by the young star of As In Heaven Flora Ofelia Hofmann Lindahl and Jessica Chastain for The Eyes Of Tammy Faye. The Best Supporting Performance was presented to the cast of Who’s Stopping Us.

Blue Moon
Blue Moon Photo: Courtesy of San Sebastian Film Festival
Terence Davies - the only male winner at this year's festival - took home the Best Screenplay Jury Prize for his Siegfried Sassoon biopic Benediction and Claire Mathon, the Best Cinematography Award for her work on Undercover. The jury has also decided to give a Special Prize to Earwig, by Lucile Hadzihalilovic.

The awards in full:

  • Golden Shell for Best Film: Blue Moon, Aline Grigore
  • Silver Shell for Best Director: As in Heaven, Tea Lindeburg
  • Silver Shell for Best Leading Performance (tied): Jessica Chastain for The Eyes Of Tammy Faye; Flora Ofelia Hofmann Lindahl for As in Heaven
  • Silver Shell for Best Supporting Performance: The ensemble cast of Who’s Stopping Us
  • Best Screenplay: Terence Davies for Benediction
  • Best Cinematography: Claire Mathon for Undercover
  • Special Jury Prize: Earwig for editing, Lucile Hadžihalilović

Additional prizes

  • New Directors’ Award: Unwanted, Lena Lanskih
  • New Directors’ Award (Special Mention): Carajita, Silvina Schnicer, Ulises Porra
  • Horizontes Latinos Award: Prayers For The Stolen, Tatiana Huezo
  • San Sebastian Audience Award: Petite Maman, Céline Sciamma
  • Audience Award for Best European Film: Between Two Worlds, Emmanuel Carrère
  • Zabaltegi-Tabakalera Award: Vortex, Gaspar Noé
  • Zabaltegi-Tabakalera Award (Special Mention): They Carry Death, Helena Girón, Samuel M Delgado
  • TVE Another Look Award: Prayers For The Stolen, Tatiana Huezo

  • Spanish Cooperation Award: Prayers For The Stolen, Tatiana Huezo
  • Irizar Basque Film Award: Maixabel, Iciar Bollain
  • Irizar Basque Film Award (Special Mention): Kuartk Valley, Maider Oleaga
  • Fipresci Award Who’s Stopping Us, Jonás Trueba
  • Share this with others on...

    Memory Game Mathieu Amalric on Claudine Galéa’s play, Vicky Krieps and Hold Me Tight

    Going Off The Rails Director Peter Day on the challenges and aims of shooting his parkour documentary

    This appealing man James Norton on costumes, dancing, looking in the mirror and Rogue Agent

    EIFF: Choice cuts Seven films and some shorts to catch at this year's festival

    Getting the bug Carter Smith on queering horror in Swallowed

    Style that’s forever Don Letts on Rebel Dread, The Clash, 99 Records, ESG, Adrian Sherwood and Eighties New York

    Acknowledging her anger Tara Thorne and Lesley Smith on telling missing stories in Compulsus

    More news and features

    We're bringing you news, reviews and interviews from the Edinburgh International Film Festival.

    We're looking forward to Frightfest.

    We've recently covered the Fantasia International Film Festival and Outfest Los Angeles, the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, Sheffield's DocFest, the Tribeca Film Festival and Canadian 2SLGBTQ festival Inside Out.

    Read our full for more.

    Visit our festivals section.


    Win Blu-ray copies of The Burning Sea, plus a trio of films from Studiocanal's Vintage Classics series - The Third Man, The Man Who Fell To Earth and The Elephant Man in our latest competitions.