I Am Not Madame Bovary takes Golden Shell in San Sebastian

Fan Bingbing and Hang Sang-soo also take prizes.

by Amber Wilkinson

I Am Not Madame Bovary
I Am Not Madame Bovary

Feng Xiaogang's I Am Not Madame Bovary won the Golden Seashell at the San Sebastian Film Festival. The film about a woman who takes on the Chinese legal system also saw star Fan Bingbing named best actress.

It was a good night for Asian directors, as Korean filmmaker Hang Sang-soo took home the Silver Shell for Best Director for his romantic comedy about a jealous painter Yourself And Yours.

There were also prizes for homegrown talent, as Isabel Peña and Rodrigo Sorogoyen won the Jury Prize for Best Screenplay for tense Spanish thriller May God Save Us (Que Dios Nos Perdone) and veteran Spanish star Eduard Fernández was named best actor for Smoke And Mirrors (El Hombre De Las Mil Caras).

Pepe San Martin's LGBT family drama Rara won the Horizontes Award, while the New Directors prize went to Sofia Exarchou for Park about teenagers, set against the backdrop of the run-down Olypmic Village - both prizes come with a £30,000 purse.

The FIPRESCI prize went to debut director William Oldroyd for his period drama of lust and murder Lady Macbeth. Read about earlier announced award winners here.

San Sebastian 2016 winners in full Golden Shell For Best Film: I Am Not Madame Madame Bovary, Feng Xiaogang (China)

Special Jury Prize, Ex Aequo: The Winter, Emiliano Torres (Argentina/France) and The Giant, Johannes Nyholm (Sweden/Denmark)

Silver Shell For Best Director: Hong Sang-soo, Yourself And Yours (South Korea)

Silver Shell For Best Actress: Fan Bingbing, I Am Not Madame Bovary

Silver Shell For Best Actor: Eduard Fernández, Smoke And Mirrors

Jury Prize For Best Cinematography: Ramiro Civita, The Winter

Jury Prize For Best Screenplay: Isabel Peña, Rodrigo Sorogoyen, May God Save Us

Kutxabank-New Directors Award, Sofia Exarchou, Park, Greece

Special Mention: Morgan Simon, A Taste Of Ink (France)

Horizontes Award: Rara, Pepa San Martín (Chile/Argentina)

Special Mention: Alba, Ana Cristina Barragán (Ecuador/Mexico/Greece)

Zabaltegi-Tabakalera Award: Eat That Question: Frank Zappa In His Own Words, Thorstern Schüte (France/Germany)

Special Mention: The Disco Shines, Chema García Ibarra (Turkey)

San Sebastián European Capital of Culture Audience Award: I, Daniel Blake, Ken Loach (UK/France/Belgium)

European Film Award: My Life As A Courgette, Claude Barras (Switzerland/France)

Irizar Basque Film Award: Pedaló, Juan Palacios (Spain)

Ezae Youth Award: In Between, Maysaloun Hamoud (Israel/France)

Films In Progress 30 Awards: La Educación Del Rey, Santiago Esteves (Argentina)

Caci/Ibermedia TV Films in Progress Award: La Educación Del Rey, Santiago Esteves (Argentina)

V Europe-Latin America Co-Production Forum: 7:35 AM, directed by Javier Van de Couter (Argentina)

Special Mention: Hogar, directed by Maura Delpero (Italy/Argentina)

EFADs-CACI Europe-Latin America Co-Production Grant: Los Días Según Ellos, directed by Juan Pablo Félix (Argentina/Spain/France)

Arte International Prize: Hogar, directed by Maura Delpero and produced by Disparate (Italy/Argentina)

FIPRESCI Award: Lady Macbeth, William Oldroyd (UK)

International Film Students Meeting Awards

Panavision Award: Floor X, Francy Fabritz (DFFB- Berlin Film Conservatory, Germany)

Special Mention: Umpire, Leonardo Van Dijl (LUCA School of Arts, Belgium)

Orona Award: 24° 51’ Latitud Norte, Carlos Lenin Treviño (Centro de Estudios Cinematográficos, Mexico)

Special Nominal Mention: A Quien Corresponda, Valeria Fernández (Universidad de Cine, Argentina)

Tokyo Gohan Award: Theatre of Life, Peter Svatek (Canada)

TVE-Another Look Award: In Between, Maysaloun Hamoud (Israel/France)

Spanish Cooperation Award: Oscuro Animal, Felipe Guerrero (Colombia /Argentina/Netherlands/Germany/France)

Special Mention: Viejo Calavera, Kiro Russo (Bolivia/Qatar) and Era O Hotel Cambridge, Eliane Caffé (Brasil/France/Spain)

Zinemaldia Feroz Award: Smoke & Mirrors, Alberto Rodríguez (Spain)

Greenpeace Award: The Odyssey, Jérôme Salle (France/Belgium)

Signis Award: Nocturama, Bertrand Bonello (France/Germany/Belgium)

Special Mention: A Monster Calls, JA Bayona (Spain)

Guipuzcoan Blood-Donors’ Association Corresponding To The Solidarity Award: 150 Miligrams, Emmanuelle Bercot (France)

Sebastiane Award: In Between, [actor][/actor]Maysaloun Hamoud (Israel/France)

Share this with others on...

The background story Vanessa Lapa on tapes, Andrew Birkin and Speer Goes To Hollywood

Raising their voices TJ Parsell on Nashville, misogyny and Invisible: Gay Women In Southern Music

A way out Amalia Ulman on El Planeta, The Taste of Tea, Amadeus, The Nutcracker and Ernst Lubitsch

In the picture Brian Vincent on the art of Edward Brezinski and Make Me Famous

The Flaneur Dominik Graf on Erich Kästner and Fabian: Going To The Dogs

Survival instinct Marianne Farley on abortion rights, the Oscars and Frimas

Bad Luck Banging Or Loony Porn wins top award at Golden Arch Radu Jude's film honoured at Eurasian film awards

More news and features

We're bringing you news, reviews and interviews from Newfest in New York and Sci-Fi London.

We're looking forward to Abertoir and the London Korean Film Festival.

We've recently covered the London Film Festival, Manchester's Grimmfest, the New York Film Festival, the Scottish Queer International Film Festival, the San Sebastian Film Festival, the Glasgow Youth Film Festival, the Venice Film Festival and Deauville and Frightfest.

Read our full for more.

Visit our festivals section.


More competitions coming soon.