Needle wins Cinéfondation award

Anahita Ghazvinizadeh's short wins Cannes accolade

by Richard Mowe

<b>Florence Winners as Lilly in Needle</b>
Florence Winners as Lilly in Needle

The jury presided over by film-maker Jane Campion on behalf of the Cinéfondation has revealed its prizewinners for Cannes 2013. The first prize has been awarded to Needle, a short by the US director Anahita Ghazvinizadeh from the School of Art Institute in Chicago.

The director of the film - about a young girl (Florence Winners) getting her ears pierced - will receive 15,000 euros plus a guarantee that her first feature will be screened at Cannes.

The second prize, with a cash sum of 11,250 attached, has been won by Belgium's Sarah Hirtt for en attendant le dégel while the third prize of 7,500 euros will be shared by In The Fishtank (In acvariu) directed by Tudor Cristian from Romania and Pandy directed by Matius Vizar from the Czech Republic.

The 18 films in contention were selected from a total of 1,550 submissions from 277 films schools from around the world.

Watch the trailer for Needle below:

Needle - Trailer from Anahita Ghazvinizadeh on Vimeo.

Share this with others on...

Putting Ireland on the map Tom Sullivan and Dathai Keane talk about being trailblazers for an Irish-language film initiative

'It's kind of like magic' Bernardo Barreto on his feature debut The Seeker and the art of a long single take

The imagination of time Alice Rohrwacher on Happy As Lazzaro and series The Wonders at MoMA

The timing was breathtaking Michael Apted at the Film Forum US theatrical première of 63 Up

Sundance announces feature film slate Jolie, Wishaw, Riseborough and Affleck among star names

The Irishman hits the spot in NYC New York Film Critics Circle awards announced

More news and features

We're bringing you coverage of the French Film Festival.

We've recently been at Tallinn Black Nights, Welsh horror spectacular Abertoir, the London Korean Film Festival and DOC NYC, the Valencia Film Festival, New York's NewFest, the Cambridge Film Festival, the New York Film Festival and the London Film Festival.

Read our full for more.

Visit our festivals section.


Win a copy of Clockwise in our latest competition.