Society Of The Snow freezes out competition at Goyas

JA Bayona's film snags 12 gongs at Spanish Oscars

by Amber Wilkinson

Society Of The Snow
Society Of The Snow
JA Bayona’s Society Of The Snow won an avalanche of awards as Spain's Oscar equivalent Goya awards in Valladolid yesterday. The film, which is available to watch on Netflix, recounts the true story of a rugby team who survived a plane crash in the Andes took home 12 prizes, including best film and director.

Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren's debut 20,000 Species Of Bees won a trio of prizes for best new director and original screenplay and best supporting actress for Ane Gabarain.

Justine Triet continued her successful awards run as Anatomy Of A Fall, was named best European film, while Maite Alberdi took home the Ibero-American gong for The Eternal Memory. Pablo Berger’s Robot Dreams won best adapted screenplay and feature animation.

The international Goya for lifetime achievement went to Sigourney Weaver, who has worked with Bayona, on A Monster Calls, and fellow Spaniard Rodrigo Cortés on Red Lights.

Several of the speeches spoke out violence against women in the film industry. Their stance comes in the wake of accusations from three women about Magical Girl director Carlos Vermut, which he strongly denies.

An honorary Goya was also given to cinema restaurateur and cinematographer Juan Mariné, who is 103 and whose credits stretch from the 1940s to 2014.

The winners and nominees are below:

Best Film

Best Director

  • Víctor Erice – Close Your Eyes
  • Elena Martin – Creatura
  • WINNER: JA Bayona – Society Of The Snow
  • David Trueba – Jokes & Cigarettes
  • Isabel Coixet – Un Amor

Best New Director

  • WINNER: Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren – 20,000 Species Of Bees
  • Itsaso Arana – The Girls Are Alright
  • Alvaro Gago – Matria
  • Alejandro Marín – I’m Loving You Madly
  • Alejandro Rojas, Juan Sebastian Vasquez – Upon Entry

Best Actor

  • Manolo Solo – Close Your Eyes
  • Enric Auquer – The Teacher Who Promised The Sea
  • WINNER: David Verdaguer – Jokes & Cigarettes
  • Hovik Keuchkerian – Un Amor
  • Alberto Ammann – Upon Entry

Best Actress

  • Patricia Lopez Arnaiz – 20,000 Species Of Bees
  • María Vázquez – Matria
  • WINNER: Malena Alterio – Something Is About To Happen
  • Carolina Yuste – Jokes & Cigarettes
  • Laia Costa – Un Amor

Best Supporting Actor

  • Martxelo Rubio – 20,000 Species Of Bees
  • Juan Carlos Vellido – Under Therapy
  • WINNER: Jose Coronado – Close Your Eyes
  • Álex Brendemühl – Creatura
  • Hugo Silva – Un Amor

Best Supporting Actress

Best New Actor

  • Brianeitor – Champions
  • Julio Hu Chen – Chinas, A Second Generation Story
  • WINNER: Matías Recalt – Society Of The Snow
  • La Dani – I’m Loving You Madly
  • Omar Banana – I’m Loving You Madly

Best New Actress

  • Xinyi Ye – Chinas, A Second Generation Story
  • Yeju Ji – Chinas, A Second Generation Story
  • Clàudia Malagelada – Creatura
  • Sara Becker – The Movie Teller
  • WINNER: Janet Novás – The Rye Horn

Best Original Screenplay

  • WINNER: Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren - 20,000 Species Of Bees
  • Michel Gaztambide, Víctor Erice – Close Your Eyes
  • Alejandro Marín, Carmen Garrido – I’m Loving You Madly
  • Félix Viscarret – Not Such An Easy Life
  • Alejandro Rojas, Juan Sebastián Vásquez – Upon Entry

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Albert Val – The Teacher Who Promised The Sea
  • Bernat Vilaplana, JA Bayona, Jaime Marques-Olarreaga, Nicolás Casariego – Society Of The Snow
  • WINNER: Pablo Berger – Robot Dreams
  • Albert Espinosa, David Trueba – Jokes & Cigarettes
  • Isabel Coixet, Laura Ferrero – Un Amor

Best cinematography

Best Animation Feature

Best Documentary

  • Caleta Palace – José Antonio Hergueta
  • Contigo, Contigo y Sin Mí – Amaya Villar Navascués
  • This Excessive Ambition – Cristina Trenas, Rogelio González, Santos Bacana
  • Iberia, Naturaleza Infinita – Arturo Menor
  • WINNER: While You’re Still You – Claudia Pinto Emperador

Best Ibero- American Film

  • Alma Viva (Portugal) – Cristele Alves Meira
  • WINNER: The Eternal Memory (Chile) – Maite Alberdi
  • The Fishbowl (Puerto Rico) – Glorimar Marrero Sanchez
  • Puan (Argentina) – Benjamín Naishtat, María Alché
  • Simón (Venezuela) – Diego Vicentini

Best European Film

Share this with others on...

'I think, through the screen, we can gain a truthful reality' Dāvis Sīmanis on the cyclical nature of history and why we need to learn from it in Maria's Silence

Some form of melancholy Aylin Tezel on exploring intersecting journeys in Falling Into Place

Turning up the heat Sean Garrity, Jonas Chernick and Sara Canning on The Burning Season

Campillo’s swipe at 'paradise' Red Island director trounces childhood demons and colonisation in the sun

'President' Dolan returns to Cannes Director 'humbled and honoured' to head Un Certain Regard jury

More news and features

We're bringing you all the latest from the Glasgow Film Festival.

We're looking forward to SXSW and BFI Flare.

We've recently covered the Berlinale, Sundance, Palm Springs, the French Film Festival, DOC NYC, the UK Jewish Film Festival and the Leeds International Film Festival.

Read our full for more.

Visit our festivals section.


More competitions coming soon.