Handia leads field for Goyas

Basque drama receives 13 nominations

by Amber Wilkinson

Giant (Handia) received 13 Goya nominations
Giant (Handia) received 13 Goya nominations
Basque language film Giant (Handia) leads the charge for the 32nd edition of the Goya Awards - the Spanish equivalent of the Oscars - with 13 nominations.

The film, directed by Aitor Arregi and Jon Garaño, who previously enjoyed international successs with Loreak, tells the real-life story of a son of a farmer who became a sensation after suffering from gigantism.

It is followed in the nominations list by Isabel Coixet's The Bookshop - starring Bill Nighy and Emily Mortimer - which has 12 nominations and Manuel Martin Cuenca's The Motive (El Autor), with nine, including a best actor nod for Javier Gutiérrez, who plays a man so obsessed with writing a book that he begins to manipulate his neighbours. The above all join the shortlist for best film, alongside Carla Simón's Summer 1993 (Estiu 1993) and Carlos Algara and Alejandro Martinez-Beltran's Verónica

The films vying for best European film are C’est La Vie, Lady Macbeth, The Square and Toni Erdmann. The Latin American film category will be contested by Zama, A Fantastic Woman, Amazona and Tempest (Tempestad).

The full list of nominees is below:

Best Film

  • The Motive
  • Summer 1993
  • Handia
  • The Bookshop
  • Veronica

Best Director

  • Manuel Martín Cuenca - The Motive
  • Aitor Arregi; Jon Garaño - Handia
  • Isabel Coixet - The Bookshop
  • Paco Plaza - Verónica

Best New Director

  • Sergio G Sánchez - Marrowbone (El Secreto de Marrowbone)
  • Carla Simón - Summer 1993
  • Javier Ambrossi; Javier Calvo - The Call (La Llamada)
  • Lino Escalera - Can't Say Goodbye (No sé decir adiós)

Best Original Script

  • Pablo Berger - Abracadabra
  • Carla Simón - Summer 1993
  • Aitor Arregi; Andoni de Carlos; Jon Garaño; José Mari Goenaga - Handia
  • Fernando Navarro; Paco Plaza - Verónica

Best Adapted Script

  • Alejandro Hernández; Manuel Martín Cuenca - The Motive
  • Agusti Villaronga; Coral Cruz - Uncertain Glory
  • Isabel Coixet - The Bookshop
  • Javier Ambrossi; Javier Calvo - The Call

Best original music

  • Pascal Gaigne - Handia
  • Alberto Iglesias - The Summit (La Cordillera)
  • Alfonso de Vilallonga - The Bookshop
  • Eugenio Mira - Verónica

Best Original Song

  • Sometimes by José Luis Perales for The Motive
  • Feeling Lonely on a Sunday Afternoon by Alfonso de Vilallonga - The Bookshop
  • The Call of José Miguel Conejo Torres (Leiva) - The Call
  • Hostile Zone Rap by Roque Baños - Rescue Under Fire

Best Leading Actor

  • Antonio de la Torre - Abracadabra
  • Javier Gutiérrez - The Motive
  • Javier Bardem - Loving Pablo
  • Andrés Gertrúdix - Dying (Morir)

  • Best Leading Actress
  • Maribel Verdú - Abracadabra
  • Emily Moríimer - The Bookshop
  • Penelope Cruz - Loving Pablo
  • Nathalie Poza - Can't Say Goodbye

Best Supporting Actor

  • José Mota - Abracadabra
  • Antonio de la Torre - The Motive
  • David Verdaguer - Summer 1993
  • Bill Nighy - The Bookshop

Best Supporting Actress

  • Adelfa Calvo - The Motive
  • Anna Castillo - The Call
  • Bethlehem Costs - The Call
  • Lola Dueñas - Can't Say Goodbye

Best Debut Actor

  • Pol Monen - Loving (Amar)
  • Eneko Sagardoy - Handia
  • Eloi Costa - Skins (Pieles)
  • Santiago Alverú - Selfie

Best Debut Actress

  • Adriana Paz - The Motive
  • Bruna Cusí - Summer 1993
  • Itziar Castro - Skins
  • Sandra Escacena - Verónica

Best Production Design

  • Mireia Graell Vivancos - Summer 1993
  • Ander Sistiagapor - Handia
  • Alex Boyd; Jordi Berenguer - The Bookshop
  • Luis Fernández Lago - Gold

Best Cinematography

  • Santiago Racajpor - Summer 1993
  • Javier Agirre Erauso - Handia
  • Jean Claude Larrieu - The Bookshop
  • Paco Femenía - Gold

Best Editing

  • David Gallartpor - Abracadabra
  • Ana Pfaff; Didac Paloupor - Summer 1993
  • Laurent Dufreche; Raúl López - Handia
  • Bernat Aragonés - The Bookshop

Best Artistic Direction

  • Alain Bainée - Abracadabra
  • Mikel Serrano - Handia
  • Lloreng Miquel - The Bookshop
  • Javier Fernández - Gold

Best Costume Design

  • Paco Delgado - Abracadabra
  • Saioa Lara - Handia
  • Mercé Paloma - The Bookshop
  • Tatiana Hernández - Gold

Best Make-up and Hairdressing

  • Sylvie Imbert; Paco Rodríguez - Abracadabra
  • Ainhoa Eskisabel; Olga Cruz; Gorka Aguirre - Handia
  • Eli Adánez; Sergio Pérez Berbel; Pedro de Diego - Gold
  • Lola Gómez; Jesús Gil; Óscar del Monte - Skins

Best Sound

  • Daniel de Zayas; Pelayo Gutiérrez; Alberto Ovejero - The Motive
  • Sergio Bürmann; David Rodriguez; Nicolás de Poulpiquet - The Bar (El Bar)
  • Iñaki Diez; Xanli Salvador - Handia
  • Altor Berenguer; Gabriel Gutiérrez; Nicolás de Poulpiquet - Verónica

Best Special Effects

  • Jon Serrano; David Heras - Handia
  • Reyes Abades; Isidro Jiménez - Gold
  • Raúl Romanillos; David Heras - Verónica
  • Reyes Abades; Curro Muñoz - Rescue Under Fire

Best Animated Film

  • Deep
  • Nur And The Dragon Temple (Nur eta Herensugearen tenplua)
  • Tadeo Jones 2. The Secret Of King Midas (Tadeo Jones 2. El secreto del Rey Midas)

Best Documentary Film

  • Cantábrico (Cantábrico, los dominios del oso pardolos dominios del oso pardo)
  • Dancing Beethoven
  • Lots Of Kids, A Monkey And A Castle
  • Saura(s)

Best Ibero-American film

  • Amazona - Clare Weiskopf, Nicolás van Hemelryck
  • Tempest - Tatiana Huezo
  • A Fantastic Woman - Sebastián Lelio
  • Zama - Lucrecia Martel

Best European Film

Best Fiction Short

  • Australia - Lino Escalera
  • Baraka by Néstor Ruiz Medina
  • As I Love You (Como yo te amo) - Fernando García-Ruiz
  • Extraños En La Carretera - Carlos Solano
  • Mother - Rodrigo Sorogoyen

Best Documentary Short

  • The Disinherited (Los desheredados) - Laura Ferrés
  • Pink Spring in Mexico (Primavera Rosa en México) - Mario de la Torre
  • The Fourth Kingdom - Adán Aliaga, Alex Lora
  • Tribes of the Inquisition (Tribus de la Inquisición) - Mabel Lozano

Best Animated Short

  • Colours (Colores) - Arly Jones, Sami Natsheh
  • The Hermit (El ermitaño) - Raúl Diez
  • A Day At The Park (Un día en el parque) - Diego Porral
  • Woody & Woody - Jaume Carrió

Share this with others on...

It never was you Laurie Simmons on My Art and pushing boundaries

On the road Paolo Virzi on Donald Sutherland, Helen Mirren and The Leisure Seeker

Making a connection David Chirchirillo on Bad Match, online dating and the legacy of Fatal Attraction

Behind the mask Julien Maury and Alexandre Bustillo on taking on the legacy of Leatherface

Palm Springs announces winners Félicité, The Charmer and The Insult among prizes.

Paradis presides over Césars Special tribute to Jeanne Moreau at French awards

More news and features

We're bringing you news and reviews direct from Palm Springs, the first of this year's festivals.

We're looking forward to Sundance and the Glasgow Film Festival.

We wrapped up last year with coverage from Made In Prague, Welsh horror festival Abertoir, the London Korean Film Festival, DOC NYC, the Scottish Mental Health Arts Festival and the Cambridge Film Festival.

Read our full for recent coverage.

Visit our festivals section.


Get your New Year off to a winning start with our competitions to win a copy of Bad Day For The Cut and Sweet Virginia.