Redcap: The Complete Second Series

Redcap: The Complete Second Series

DVD Rating: *

Reviewed by: Paz Newis

Read Paz Newis's film review of Redcap: The Complete Second Series

There are no extras as such, but the three discs contain 13 episodes and an excerpt of a lost episode, re-discovered on an engineer's test reel. Although merely a fragment of Part Three, this shows some "before the action is called" footage and is of interest to students of TV history, or fans of John Thaw and the show in general.

I did not live with a telly at the time of the remake, starring Tamsin Outhwait, a couple of years ago, so I can't say how it compares, but doubt that the overall strength of the new matches that of the original.

Copy picture

Episodes and original broadcast dates

Episode 1: Crime Passionel 2 April 1966

Episode 2: The Pride of the Regiment 9 April 1966

Episode 3: The Killer 16 April 1966

Episode 4: Buckingham Palace 23 April 1966

Episode 5: Rough Justice 30 April 1966

Episode 6: The Moneylenders 7 May 1966

Episode 7: Strictly by the Book 14 May 1966

Episode 8: Paterson's Private Army 21 May 1966

Episode 9: Stag Party 28 May 1966

Episode 10: An Ambush Among Friends 4 June 1966

Episode 11: The Alibi 11 June 1966

Episode 12: The Proper Charlie 18 June 1966

Episode 13: Information Received 25 June 1966

Reviewed on: 17 Mar 2006
Share this with others on...
Redcap: The Complete Second Series packshot
Vintage series about a military policeman.
Amazon link

Product Code: 7952405

Region: 2

Ratio: 1.33:1

Sound: Dolby Digital

Search database: